Reigate South & Earlswood

Earlswood is a town in Surrey to the south of Redhill. The census area Earlswood and Whitebushes has a population of 8,234.The town lies on the A23 between Redhill and Horley. Other neighbouring settlements include Salfords, Nutfield and Reigate.

Earlswood was home to the Royal Earlswood psychiatric hospital until its closure in 1997 and to the Royal Philanthropic Society's reform school from 1849 until 1988.

The town is served by Earlswood (Surrey) railway station with trains running from London Bridge/London Victoria to Horsham hourly. The station previously had a third platform which gave access to the Royal Earlswood Hospital.

Nearby is Earlswood Common, with two artificial landscaped lakes called Earlswood Lakes, which are used for recreational purposes. The upper lake used to have a kiosk and boats for rent. The lower lake had a diving platform, a paddling pool and was used for summer swimming. Members of the Christian Science Church used the lake for all year swimming and broke the ice in winter. The lower lake has a concrete bottom and was used in World War I to test the ability of primitive tanks to cross flooded landscapes. Today the common is used as a golf course.

When the new road between the Earlswood Common and the London to Brighton railway was cut there is a claim that traces of a Roman villa were discovered. No evidence has since been located. The area south of the common known as Whitebushes was formally a wilderness; it contained many clay pits that may be linked to the reputed Roman remains. Whitebushes in more recent times was the location of the Jordan Fever Hospital and the Burnham Brickworks.

Join or Renew

By joining the Conservative Party, you're doing your bit to help change Britain. Your support is vital to our campaign to build a better future


Earlswood & Whitebushes

Rita Renton

Barbara Thomson
James Durrant

South Park & Woodhatch

Carol Poulter
Stephen Bramhall

Branch Officers

Dr Elfrid Silcock - President

Roger Newstead - Chairman
Stephen Bramhall - Deputy Chairman
Rita Renton - Treasurer
Mary Newstead - Secretary